#hottakeoftheday
#hottakeoftheday
#hottakeoftheday pod #134 with Governor Candidate Heidi Ganahl
--:--
--:--

#hottakeoftheday pod #134 with Governor Candidate Heidi Ganahl

Heidi Ganahl for Colorado!

In 2018, after proposition 112 was defeated in Colorado, a ballot measure that would have changed setbacks to 2500’ for all oil and gas development, I thought defeat would put a pin in the issue for a while. It didn’t.

Despite overwhelming majority support in places like Weld county where the drilling activity actually occurs, opposition in Denver, Boulder and Aspen (who have slightly more than a 2500’ setback to any oil and gas development) drove Senate Bill 181.

Passed under the cover of snowfall with out even attempting to make it look like anyone with experience was consulted, SB181 did what prop 112 intended to do and much more, including reshaping the Oil and Gas commission. The results have been to create a wasteland of an investment climate for oil and gas in Colorado.

From mandating Colorado to produce 85% of its electricity carbon free by 2030 (not possible) to hindering development of already the most regulated and cleanest oil and gas production in the country and allowing utilities to substantially increase rates electricity consumers pay, I strongly believe the State needs a new energy policy. That can only come with new leadership.

When I first met Heidi Ganahl, I knew she was having a campaign event at the Wide Open Saloon. As I would do, I drove down specifically to shake her hand in the 5 minutes (2 hour round trip drive though) I had before Andrew’s hockey game. 2020 showed me that we can’t complain about policies - any policies - if we don’t get involved. And so, here I am. Involved.

So this week, I invited Heidi on the podcast to discuss her candidacy, her background as an entrepreneur and hear about how she would help take Colorado in a different direction.

If you’d like to meet her, we are holding a small fundraiser for her March 9th and there are limited spaces left. You can RSVP here and I’d love to see you there.

https://www.heidiforgovernor.com/event-castlerock/

To learn more, visit:

https://www.heidiforgovernor.com/

I hope you enjoy our conversation.

Full disclosure: I am a contributor to the campaign.

0 Comments
#hottakeoftheday
#hottakeoftheday
David Ramsden-Wood's #hottakeoftheday